British and Atlantic Football

American Football started in Britain in 1983 after TV Station Channel 4 started showing the NFL. Soon afterwards other Atlantic Nations such as Ireland, Brittany and Galicia started playing aswell. This is a Statistical History of British and Atlantic Football Leagues with a particular focus on Irish Connections.

British American Football Association Logo [Ref:

American Football in Britain was first played in 1984 and at its’ height in the late-1980s had more than 200 affiliated adult teams.

While it suffered a slow retreat in the late 1990s it began to grow again the 2000s, helped in no small part by the NFL (National Football League) playing a series of Regular Season matches there every year.

There are now Adult Mens and Women’s Leagues or Youth, Junior, Cadet and Pee Wee Leagues in either full contact pads and helmets Football or non-contact Flag Football in 11on11, 9on9, 7on7, 6on6 or 5on5 variations.

See also English National Leagues and Celtic National Leagues for Country and Regional Level Leagues.

Picture Credit: [1] American Football International (2013) logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2017]

British National Leagues

Britain (BAFA – British American Football Association)

Britain: Level 1:

British American Football Association Britbowl Finals 1985-Present

BAFA National Leagues Premiership (Seasons): 2019

BAFA Budweiser League National Division:

British American Football Merit League (Seasons): 1984

Britain Level 2:

BAFA Budweiser League Premier Division:

British American Football Non-Merit Table (Seasons): 1984

Britain Level 3:

BAFA National Leagues Southern Football Conference 2 (Seasons): 2019

BAFA Budweiser League Division 1

Britain: Level 4:

British Gridiron Football League 1987-1988

British University Foootball

Britain: British Colleges & Universities Football:

British Collegiate American Football League 1985-1990

British Collegiate American Football League 1990-1994

British Women’s Football

British American Football Association Women’s Sapphire Series Division 1 2017-2019

British Youth Kitted

BYAFA YKL (Results): 1996 1993 1992 1991

BYAFA Youth Kitted Friendlies (Results): 1992

British American Football Association Logo [Ref:
Picture Credit: [1] American Football International (2013) logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2017]


Hand drawn map of England with regions. Colorful hand drawn vector illustration

From 1988 to 1994 the National Passball League in England played an independent schedule with teams such as the Cannock Chase Giants, a possible reference to the Celtic Archaeology of Staffordshire.

See also Celtic National Leagues for Country and Regional Level Leagues.

English National and Regional Leagues

National (NPL)

National Passball League

National Passball League (Britannia) 1988-1993

National Passball League (Seasons):

1991 Final: Thames Valley Thunderbolts 41 London Gators 15

1993 1992 1991 1988

English Regional Leagues

English Regional Leagues

Northern England and East Midlands

BGFL British Gridiron Football League (5th Level 1987)

BGFL Brit Bowl 1987: Mersey Centurions 20 Leicester Hunstmen 16


Yorkshire Rose Winter League (Seasons): 1993

Greater London Area and South East England: Capital League (5th Level 1987):

Capital Bowl 1987: LA Panthers 22 St. Albans Kestrels 20

English Regional Pre-Season and Winter Tournaments

North West England: North England Friendlies (Seasons): 1994

Midlands: West Bromwich Sevens Tournament (Seasons): 1993

East England: Home Counties Friendlies (Seasons): 1993

South East England: Christine Crawley Charity Cup (Seasons): 1993

South West England: Oxford Passball Tournament (Seasons): 1993


Picture Credit: [1] American Football International (2013) logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 August 2017]

British Flag Football

English Senior Flag Football

English Senior Flag League 9v9 Senior Championship 2003-2005

British Senior Flag League 9v9 Senior Championship 1998-2002

British Senior Flag Tournaments

BSFL 5 on 5 Tournaments (Results and Match Reports):

English Youth Flag Football (14-18 Years Old)

National Flag Football Association Youth League (Seasons):


Junior Gridiron League Youth League (14-18 y.o.) (Seasons):

1997 1995 1994

Youth Flag Football (South East England) (Seasons):


English Junior Flag Football (12-14 Years Old)

NGA National Gridiron Association Junior Flag Tournaments (12-14 y.o.):

Junior Gridiron League Junior League (9-15 y.o.) (Seasons):


English Youth Two Touch Football

Junior Gridiron League Youth Two Touch League (South England) (Seasons):


Junior Gridiron League Junior Two Touch League (South Britain) (Seasons):


Northern Junior Gridiron League Two Touch (North England) (Seasons):

1994 1993

JAFL Junior American Football League (England and Wales 14-18 y.o.)


There have been Independent Leagues in the Celtic Countries (Regions) of Western Europe since the Thistle American Football League and North West and Welsh Counties American Football League in 1987.


detailed illustration of a map of Scotland with flag, eps10 vector

Copyright: unkreatives

From 1995 to 1998 the Scottish Gridiron Association broke away from the British American Football Association before remerging in 1999.


Map Of wales With Flag As Texture Isolated On Grey Background. Vector Illustration

Copyright: lumyaisweet

n 1987 there was an Independent American Football League comprising teams in North Wales and the North West of England


Vector map of Brittany silhouette on transparency grid background

Copyright: 1enchik

From 1997 to 2005 Conference Ouest in Brittany formed an Independent Association in North West France before again merging with the Federation Francais de Football Americain


Vector map of region of Galicia with coat of arms and location on Spanish map

Copyright: sateda

From 2012 to 2016 it was Galicia, in North West Iberia’s turn to be an Independent Association, before merging again with the Federation Espanola de Football Americano.

Celtic National Leagues

Scotland (SGA); Wales (NWWCAFL); Brittany (Conf’Ouest); Galicia (AGFA)

Ireland (AFI):

As this is an Irish Sports Archive there is much more on American Football Ireland covered, so Ireland has its own page at: American Football Ireland

Scotland (SGA)

Scottish American Football

Scottish 7v7 Football Friendlies (Seasons and Match Reports):

Scottish Gridiron Association Bowl Finals 1995-1998

Caledonian Thistle American Football League 1987-1988

Scottish American Football Capital Bowl 1986-1990

Capital Bowl (Seasons): 1990 1989

Scottish Youth Kitted

Scottish Youth Kitted Friendlies (Seasons):

Scottish Flag Football

Scottish Flag Football Association Senior 2003-2007

Scottish Flag Football Friendlies 1993-94

Scottish Youth Flag Football

Scottish Youth Leagues and Tournaments (U18)

Scottish Claymores Flag Football Association Youth League (Seasons): 1996

Scottish Junior Leagues and Tournaments (U15)

Scottish Flag Football Association Junior Bowl Tournaments:


North West & Welsh Counties American Football

Wales Friendlies (Seasons): 1993

North West & Welsh Counties American Football League 1987

Brittany (Conf’Ouest)

Brittany American Football

Conference Ouest (Brittany American Football) 1997-2005

Galicia (AGFA)

Galician American Football

Liga Gallega de Futbol Americano (Galicia) 2012-2016